ما يحدث ل Biochar مباشرة بعد صنعه؟

Biochar - عرض التفاصيل من المسامية Biochar قطعة

استخدام كلمة "biochar"يجب أن تستخدم مع بعض فهم المنتج. لقد تحدثنا عنها biochar بحاجة إلى أن تكون من الكتلة الحيوية. استخدام الكتلة الحيوية يعطينا "الحيوية" في biochar. الجزء "char" من biochar هو ما يمكن تعريفه من قبل الناس في نواح كثيرة. الفحم هو إطار الكربون دون أي بقايا الزيوت المتبقية بعد الانحلال الحراري. ويكفيلد Biochar ليس وقود. نحن لا نسميها الفحم لسبب ما. لا تحتوي على الزيوت الموجودة به للمساعدة في توفير الحرارة في Weber Grill. تريد ويكفيلد أن يكون عملائنا قادرين على الثقة شراء قسط biochar هذا هو جودة عالية ومفيدة. كيف نتعامل مع biochar بعد الانحلال الحراري يحدث فرقا. أولا ، لماذا تريد أن تفعل شيئا إضافيا ل biochar بعد أن كان من خلال الانحلال الحراري؟ إنه سؤال معقول. هناك أشياء جيدة يمكن القيام بها وبعض الأشياء غير الجيدة. دعونا نناقش التبريد ، التنشيط والشحن biochar.

التبريد

بعد biochar تم إنشاؤه في مفاعل الانحلال الحراري ، و biochar حار للغاية. حار جدا للتعامل معها. يجب إخماده بالماء. التبريد يسقط درجة حرارة biochar ويضيف الماء إلى الخليط. وجود بعض الماء في biochar يجعل من السهل التعامل معها وشحنها. Biochar هذا هو شديد الجفاف ويمكن أن يطير بعيدًا في يوم عاصف ويدخل في عينيك. تتم عملية التبريد على نطاق واسع biochar نظم التصنيع.

تفعيل

عند هذه النقطة ، لدينا عظيم biochar. إذا كنت تأخذ هذا biochar والاستمرار في تنظيفه بعمليات كيميائية أو حرارية ، فإنك ستصنع "كربون نشط" نقيًا. هناك بعض الشركات التي لا تتصل بمنتجاتها biochar، لكنهم سوف يشيرون إليها باعتبارها مختلطة biochar. لا يمكن أن نسميها biochar لأن الشركة قد أجرت المزيد من المعالجة لل biochar بعد الانحلال الحراري. على سبيل المثال ، إذا قمت بالغسيل الحمضي ، فأعد تسخينه biochar أو تفجيره بالبخار ، فستقوم بإزالة الرماد والأكسجين والمكونات الثانوية الأخرى لل biochar لإنشاء الكربون المنشط. الكربون المنشط عالي الجودة هو الكربون النقي (100٪). Biochar يحتوي على نسبة عالية من الكربون (60٪ إلى 90٪) ، لكن لن يكون 100٪ كربون.

يعني مصطلح "المنشط" أن سطح الكربون يحتوي على عدد كبير من المسام لغرض امتصاص الغازات والمذاب خارج المحلول. يمكن أن يكون للكربون المنشط مساحة سطح من 1500 إلى 3000 m2 / g من المواد. يمكن أن يكون هناك أسباب مفيدة ومهمة للغاية لاستخدام الكربون المنشط في التنقية والعمليات التجارية الأخرى. Biochar يتم تنشيطه بمجرد الانتهاء من عملية الانحلال الحراري وله مساحة كبيرة للتفاعل مع الهواء والماء والتربة. ويكفيلد biochar تبلغ مساحتها حوالي 365 m2 / g. ويكفيلد biochar يعتبر الكربون المنشط بدرجة منخفضة. أقل من 15 غرام (أو رطل 0.03) من Wakefield biochar لديه مساحة سطح مماثلة لملعب لكرة القدم.

متهم

مصطلح "مشحونة" يعني أن biochar على استعداد لتزويد التربة بالماء والمواد الغذائية لدعم الحياة الميكروبية وزيادة نمو الجذور للنباتات. ال biochar سيتم شحن المواد المغذية مثل النيتروجين والفوسفور والبوتاسيوم والمواد المغذية الدقيقة الأخرى. شحن biochar يتم في نواح كثيرة. ال biochar مباشرة من نظام الانحلال الحراري ليست مشحونة. يمكنك خلط biochar مع المواد العضوية مثل السماد العضوي ، المسبوكات الدودية والأسمدة والمياه قبل وضعها في التربة. إعطاء biochar لخلط مع هذه المنتجات سوف تسمح لل biochar لامتصاص العناصر الغذائية الخاصة بهم. هذه هي واحدة من الفوائد الكبيرة لل biochar. بدون biocharالمزيد من العناصر المغذية في التسميد وغيرها من التعديلات في التربة سوف تتسرب إلى التربة أثناء أحداث الري والمطر. ال biochar يحمل العناصر الغذائية ويزودهم بالميكروبات والنباتات بكفاءة أكبر بكثير. وقد أظهرت العديد من الدراسات ذلك biocharتتطلب التربة المعدلة نسبة سماد أقل من 40 إلى 60biochar التربة المعدلة. ال biochar هو جعل المواد الغذائية المتاحة أكثر للميكروبات والنباتات.

النخل مقابل الطحن

حجم المواد الخام سوف يؤثر على حجم biochar. سيقلل حجم المواد الأولية أثناء الانحلال الحراري لتشكيل بنية الكربون الجديدة. هناك أوقات عندما يكون حجم biochar لا يقل أهمية عن مساحة السطح ومحتوى الكربون. إذا biochar يتم استخدامه في مشاريع معالجة المياه ، قد يكون هناك تفضيل ل biochar لتكون جزيئات أكبر للسماح بتدفق مياه أسهل ومنع انسداد مرشح. أي جزيئات دقيقة في biochar سيكون ضارا للمشروع. في هذه الحالة ، فإن biochar يجب غربال لإزالة الجزيئات الدقيقة وترك الأجزاء الأكبر. على العكس تماما، biochar يمكن رشها في محلول. للرش biochar في الحل ، و biochar سوف تضطر إلى الذهاب من خلال فوهة مع حجم الجسيمات ثابت. النخل هو وسيلة قيمة للتطبيق biochar دون الحاجة إلى تغيير شكل biochar الجسيمات بعد الانحلال الحراري.

طحن biochar وقد تم تحقيق أحجام أصغر الجسيمات. ويكفيلد Biochar لم يكن ما يصل. سطح biochar هو المفتاح لكيفية biochar يتفاعل مع التربة والمياه. أي طحن لل biochar سوف تدمر المسام على سطح biochar ويقلل من فعالية biochar.

عملية سلبية الكربون

ويكفيلد Biochar يريد تقديم منتج صديق للبيئة. النفايات من الغسيل الإضافي لل biochar يمكن أن يكون أكثر من عبء التخلص من النفايات ، ونظرا لطبيعة العمليات المضافة ، وزيادة الملوثات إلى البيئة. المصنعة بشكل صحيح biochar هي عملية سلبية الكربون. تؤدي العملية السلبية للكربون إلى تقليل كمية الكربون التي يتم إطلاقها في الغلاف الجوي كغازات دفيئة (ثاني أكسيد الكربون ، الميثان ، إلخ). الكربون المنشط هو نتيجة للعملية الإيجابية للكربون لأن متطلبات الطاقة للحصول على منتج كربون 100٪ تستهلك طاقة أكبر ، وبالتالي تنبعث غازات الدفيئة في البيئة أكثر مما يتم عزلها في التربة.

Biochar الذي تم وضعه في الأرض يعتبر فعلًا لعزل الكربون. عادة ، عندما تتحلل الكتلة الحيوية ، فإن الميكروبات الطبيعية في التربة ستفككها ، وتستخدم الأكسجين وتطلق ثاني أكسيد الكربون. ومع ذلك ، إذا خضعت للانحلال الحراري ، فسيتم إطلاق القليل من ثاني أكسيد الكربون أو عدم إطلاقه ، وسيتصلب الجزء الأكبر من الكتلة الحيوية إلى نوع من الفحم المسامي ، مما يؤدي إلى عزل الكربون كمادة صلبة. تعلم المزيد عن الهندسة الجيولوجية.

أفكار 2 على "ما يحدث ل Biochar مباشرة بعد صنعه؟"

  1. مولي سلوبودا يقول:

    شكرا جزيلا لهذا. هذا حل مشكلتي الأكبر لهذا العرض التقديمي في صفي حول لماذا يجب علينا استخدام الانحلال الحراري.

  2. جاكي سميث يقول:

    نتطلع إلى إضافة biochar إلى كومة من روث البقر ثم تنتشر على تربتي الرملية. لقد أضفت السماد في الماضي ولكن المغذيات تتسرب بعد عامين فقط. آمل أن biochar يعطيني بعض مصطلح الخصوبة لفترة طويلة. سأرى ما سيحدث بدون تعديلات ، فقط السماد الطبيعي والسماد /biochar. سآخذ الصور

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني.

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

What Happens To Biochar Right After It Is Made?

Biochar - Detail View of Porous Biochar Piece

The use of the word “biochar” needs to be used with some understanding of the product. We’ve talked about biochar needing to be from a biomass. The use of biomass gives us the “bio” in biochar. The “char” part of biochar is what can be defined by people in many ways. The char is the carbon framework without any residual oils leftover after pyrolysis. Wakefield Biochar is not a fuel. We don’t call it charcoal for a reason. It doesn’t have the oils in it to help provide heat in your Weber Grill. Wakefield wants our customers to be able to confidently purchase premium biochar that is high quality and useful. How we handle the biochar after pyrolysis makes a difference. First, why would you want to do something extra to biochar after it has been through pyrolysis? It’s a reasonable question. There are good things that can be done and some not-so-good things. Let’s discuss quenching, activating and charging biochar.


After the biochar has been created in the pyrolysis reactor, the biochar is extremely hot; too hot to handle. It needs to be quenched with water. Quenching drops the temperature of the biochar and adds water to the mixture. Having some water in the biochar makes it easier to handle and ship. Biochar that is bone-dry is extremely light and can fly away on a windy day and get in your eyes.   Quenching is done by most all large-scale biochar manufacturing systems.


At this point, we have a great biochar. If you were to take this biochar and continue to clean it up with chemical or thermal processes, then you would be making a pure “activated carbon”. There are some companies that don’t call their product biochar, but they will refer to it as a hybrid biochar. They can’t call it biochar because the company has conducted more processing of the biochar after pyrolysis. For example, if you do acid washing, re-heat the biochar or blast it with steam, then you will be removing the ash, oxygen and other minor components of the biochar to create an activated carbon. A high quality activated carbon is pure carbon (100%). Biochar has a high carbon content (60% to 90%), but would not be 100% carbon.

The term “activated” means that the surface of the carbon has a large number of pores for the purpose of adsorbing gases and solutes out of solution. Activated carbons can have a surface area of 1500 to 3000 m2/g of material. There can be very useful and important reasons to use activated carbon in purification and other commercial processes. Biochar is activated once it is finished with the pyrolysis process and it has a large surface area to interact with the air, water and soil. Wakefield biochar has a surface area of approximately 365 m2/g. Wakefield biochar is considered a low grade activated carbon. Less than 15 grams (or 0.03 lbs) of Wakefield biochar has a surface area similar to a football field.


The term “charged” means that the biochar is ready to provide the soil with water and nutrients to support microbial life and increase root growth for plants. The biochar will be charged with nutrients like nitrogen, phosphorous, and potassium and other micro-nutrients. Charging biochar is done in many ways. The biochar directly out of the pyrolysis system is not charged. You can mix biochar with organic materials like compost, worm castings and fertilizer and water prior to putting into the soil. Giving the biochar to mix with these products will allow for the biochar to adsorb their nutrients. This is one of the big benefits of biochar. Without biochar, more of the nutrients in compost and other soil amendments will leach away into the soil during watering and rain events. The biochar holds the nutrients and provides them to the microbes and plants with a much greater efficiency. Many studies have shown that biochar-amended soil requires 40 to 60% less fertilizer than non-biochar amended soils. The biochar is making the nutrients more available to the microbes and plants.

Sieving vs. Grinding

The size of the feedstock will impact the size of the biochar. A feedstock will reduce in size during pyrolysis to form the new carbon structure. There are times when the size of the biochar is as important as the surface area and carbon content. If biochar is being used in water remediation projects, there may be a preference for the biochar to be larger particles to allow for easier water flow and to prevent the clogging of a filter. Any fine particles in the biochar would be detrimental to the project. In this situation, the biochar should be sieved to remove the fine particles and leave the larger pieces. On the contrary, biochar can be sprayed in a solution. To spray biochar in solution, the biochar will have to go through a nozzle with consistent particle size. Sieving is a valuable way to apply biochar without having to change the shape of the biochar particle after pyrolysis.

Grinding biochar has been done achieve smaller particle sizes. Wakefield Biochar has not been ground up. The surface of the biochar is key to how the biochar interacts with soil and water. Any grinding of the biochar will destroy the pores on the surface of the biochar and lessen the effectiveness of the biochar.

Carbon Negative Process

Wakefield Biochar wants to provide an environmentally friendly product. The waste from the additional washing of the biochar can be more of a burden for waste disposal and, due to the nature of the added processes, increase pollutants to the environment. Correctly manufactured biochar is a carbon negative process. A carbon negative process reduces the amount of carbon being released into the atmosphere as a greenhouse gas (carbon dioxide, methane, etc.). Activated carbon is the result of a carbon positive process because the energy requirements to get a 100% carbon product takes more energy and, in turn, more release of greenhouse gases into the environment than are being sequestered back into the soil.

Biochar that has been put in the ground is considered to be an act of sequestering the carbon. Normally, as a biomass decomposes, the natural microbes in the soil will break it down, use oxygen and release carbon dioxide. If, however, undergoes pyrolysis, little or no carbon dioxide would be released, and the bulk of the biomass would harden into a kind of porous char, essentially sequestering the carbon as a solid.   Learn more about geoengineering.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *