发生了什么 Biochar 它是在它之后做的吗?

Biochar - 多孔的细节视图 Biochar 物件

使用“biochar“需要在对产品有所了解的情况下使用。 我们已经谈过了 biochar 需要来自生物质。 生物质的使用给了我们“生物” biochar。 “char”的一部分 biochar 是人们可以通过多种方式定义的。 焦炭是碳骨架,在热解后没有残留的油。 韦克菲尔德 Biochar 不是燃料。 我们之所以不称之为木炭是有原因的。 它没有油,可以帮助您在Weber Grill中提供热量。 韦克菲尔德希望我们的客户能够自信 购买溢价 biochar 这是高品质和有用的。 我们如何处理 biochar 热解后产生影响。 首先,你为什么要做一些额外的事情 biochar 经过热解后呢? 这是一个合理的问题。 有好事可以做,有些不那么好。 我们来讨论淬火,激活和充电 biochar.

淬火

之后 biochar 已经在热解反应器中产生了 biochar 非常热; 太热了,无法处理。 它需要用水淬火。 淬火降低了温度 biochar 并在混合物中加水。 有一些水 biochar 使处理和运输更容易。 Biochar 干燥的骨头非常轻,在刮风的日子会飞走,进入您的眼睛。 淬火是由大多数大型企业完成的 biochar 制造系统。

激活

在这一点上,我们有一个伟大的 biochar。 如果你拿这个 biochar 并继续用化学或热处理方法清理它,然后你将制造纯净的“活性炭”。 有些公司没有打电话给他们的产品 biochar,但他们会将其称为混合体 biochar。 他们不能称之为 biochar 因为公司已经进行了更多的处理 biochar 热解后。 例如,如果你做酸洗,重新加热 biochar 或用蒸汽喷射它,然后你将去除灰烬,氧气和其他微量成分 biochar 制造活性炭。 高品质活性炭是纯碳(100%)。 Biochar 具有高碳含量(60%至90%),但不是100%碳。

术语“活化的”是指碳的表面具有大量的孔,用于从溶液中吸附气体和溶质。 活性炭可具有1500至3000 m2 / g材料的表面积。 在纯化和其他商业过程中使用活性炭可能是非常有用和重要的原因。 Biochar 一旦完成热解过程就会被激活,并且它具有大的表面积以与空气,水和土壤相互作用。 韦克菲尔德 biochar 表面积约为365 m2 / g。 韦克菲尔德 biochar 被认为是低级活性炭。 小于Wakefield的15克(或0.03磅) biochar 具有类似于足球场的表面区域。

带电

“收费”一词意味着 biochar 准备为土壤提供水和养分,以支持微生物的生命,增加植物的根系生长。 该 biochar 将充满氮,磷,钾等营养素和其他微量营养素。 充电 biochar 是以多种方式完成的。 该 biochar 直接离开热解系统是不充电的。 你可以混 biochar 在投入土壤之前,使用有机材料,如堆肥,蠕虫铸件,肥料和水。 给予 biochar 与这些产品混合将允许 biochar 吸收他们的营养。 这是一个很大的好处 biochar。 没有 biochar在浇水和下雨期间,堆肥和其他土壤改良剂中的更多营养成分会渗入土壤。 该 biochar 保持营养,并以更高的效率将它们提供给微生物和植物。 许多研究表明这一点 biochar土壤需要40比60少XNUMX%biochar 修改过的土壤。 该 biochar 使微生物和植物更容易获得营养。

筛分与研磨

原料的大小将影响原料的大小 biochar。 原料在热解过程中将减小尺寸以形成新的碳结构。 有时候的大小 biochar 与表面积和碳含量一样重要。 如果 biochar 正在用于水补救项目,可能有一个偏好 biochar 成为较大的颗粒,以便更容易地流过水并防止过滤器堵塞。 中的任何细小颗粒 biochar 会对项目产生不利影响。 在这种情况下, biochar 应筛分去除细小颗粒并留下较大的碎片。 反之, biochar 可以喷洒在溶液中。 喷 biochar 在解决方案中 biochar 必须通过具有一致粒径的喷嘴。 筛分是一种有价值的应用方式 biochar 无需改变形状 biochar 热解后的颗粒。

研磨 biochar 已经完成了更小的粒径。 韦克菲尔德 Biochar 没有被搞砸。 表面的 biochar 是怎么回事 biochar 与土壤和水相互作用。 任何磨削的 biochar 会破坏表面的毛孔 biochar 并减少了有效性 biochar.

碳负过程

韦克菲尔德 Biochar 想要提供环保产品。 从额外洗涤的废物 biochar 对废物处理来说可能是更多的负担,并且由于添加过程的性质,增加了对环境的污染物。 正确制造 biochar 是一个碳负面过程。 碳负过程减少了作为温室气体(二氧化碳,甲烷等)释放到大气中的碳量。 活性炭是碳阳性过程的结果,因为获得100%碳产品所需的能量需要更多的能量,反过来,温室气体更多地释放到环境中而不是被隔离回土壤中。

Biochar 被埋在地下的碳被认为是隔离碳的一种行为。 通常,随着生物质的分解,土壤中的天然微生物会将其分解,使用氧气并释放二氧化碳。 但是,如果进行热解,则几乎不释放二氧化碳或不释放二氧化碳,并且大部分生物质将硬化成一种多孔炭,基本上将碳固存在固体中。 学习更多关于 地球工程.

2对“发生了什么 Biochar 它是在它之后做的吗?=

  1. 杰基史密斯 说:

    期待加入 biochar 到一堆牛粪,然后铺在我的沙土上。 过去增加了肥料,但仅两年后营养就被滤出。 我希望 biochar 给了我一些长期的生育能力我要看看没有修正,只有粪便,以及粪便/biochar。 我去拍照

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

What Happens To Biochar Right After It Is Made?

Biochar - Detail View of Porous Biochar Piece

The use of the word “biochar” needs to be used with some understanding of the product. We’ve talked about biochar needing to be from a biomass. The use of biomass gives us the “bio” in biochar. The “char” part of biochar is what can be defined by people in many ways. The char is the carbon framework without any residual oils leftover after pyrolysis. Wakefield Biochar is not a fuel. We don’t call it charcoal for a reason. It doesn’t have the oils in it to help provide heat in your Weber Grill. Wakefield wants our customers to be able to confidently purchase premium biochar that is high quality and useful. How we handle the biochar after pyrolysis makes a difference. First, why would you want to do something extra to biochar after it has been through pyrolysis? It’s a reasonable question. There are good things that can be done and some not-so-good things. Let’s discuss quenching, activating and charging biochar.


After the biochar has been created in the pyrolysis reactor, the biochar is extremely hot; too hot to handle. It needs to be quenched with water. Quenching drops the temperature of the biochar and adds water to the mixture. Having some water in the biochar makes it easier to handle and ship. Biochar that is bone-dry is extremely light and can fly away on a windy day and get in your eyes.   Quenching is done by most all large-scale biochar manufacturing systems.


At this point, we have a great biochar. If you were to take this biochar and continue to clean it up with chemical or thermal processes, then you would be making a pure “activated carbon”. There are some companies that don’t call their product biochar, but they will refer to it as a hybrid biochar. They can’t call it biochar because the company has conducted more processing of the biochar after pyrolysis. For example, if you do acid washing, re-heat the biochar or blast it with steam, then you will be removing the ash, oxygen and other minor components of the biochar to create an activated carbon. A high quality activated carbon is pure carbon (100%). Biochar has a high carbon content (60% to 90%), but would not be 100% carbon.

The term “activated” means that the surface of the carbon has a large number of pores for the purpose of adsorbing gases and solutes out of solution. Activated carbons can have a surface area of 1500 to 3000 m2/g of material. There can be very useful and important reasons to use activated carbon in purification and other commercial processes. Biochar is activated once it is finished with the pyrolysis process and it has a large surface area to interact with the air, water and soil. Wakefield biochar has a surface area of approximately 365 m2/g. Wakefield biochar is considered a low grade activated carbon. Less than 15 grams (or 0.03 lbs) of Wakefield biochar has a surface area similar to a football field.


The term “charged” means that the biochar is ready to provide the soil with water and nutrients to support microbial life and increase root growth for plants. The biochar will be charged with nutrients like nitrogen, phosphorous, and potassium and other micro-nutrients. Charging biochar is done in many ways. The biochar directly out of the pyrolysis system is not charged. You can mix biochar with organic materials like compost, worm castings and fertilizer and water prior to putting into the soil. Giving the biochar to mix with these products will allow for the biochar to adsorb their nutrients. This is one of the big benefits of biochar. Without biochar, more of the nutrients in compost and other soil amendments will leach away into the soil during watering and rain events. The biochar holds the nutrients and provides them to the microbes and plants with a much greater efficiency. Many studies have shown that biochar-amended soil requires 40 to 60% less fertilizer than non-biochar amended soils. The biochar is making the nutrients more available to the microbes and plants.

Sieving vs. Grinding

The size of the feedstock will impact the size of the biochar. A feedstock will reduce in size during pyrolysis to form the new carbon structure. There are times when the size of the biochar is as important as the surface area and carbon content. If biochar is being used in water remediation projects, there may be a preference for the biochar to be larger particles to allow for easier water flow and to prevent the clogging of a filter. Any fine particles in the biochar would be detrimental to the project. In this situation, the biochar should be sieved to remove the fine particles and leave the larger pieces. On the contrary, biochar can be sprayed in a solution. To spray biochar in solution, the biochar will have to go through a nozzle with consistent particle size. Sieving is a valuable way to apply biochar without having to change the shape of the biochar particle after pyrolysis.

Grinding biochar has been done achieve smaller particle sizes. Wakefield Biochar has not been ground up. The surface of the biochar is key to how the biochar interacts with soil and water. Any grinding of the biochar will destroy the pores on the surface of the biochar and lessen the effectiveness of the biochar.

Carbon Negative Process

Wakefield Biochar wants to provide an environmentally friendly product. The waste from the additional washing of the biochar can be more of a burden for waste disposal and, due to the nature of the added processes, increase pollutants to the environment. Correctly manufactured biochar is a carbon negative process. A carbon negative process reduces the amount of carbon being released into the atmosphere as a greenhouse gas (carbon dioxide, methane, etc.). Activated carbon is the result of a carbon positive process because the energy requirements to get a 100% carbon product takes more energy and, in turn, more release of greenhouse gases into the environment than are being sequestered back into the soil.

Biochar that has been put in the ground is considered to be an act of sequestering the carbon. Normally, as a biomass decomposes, the natural microbes in the soil will break it down, use oxygen and release carbon dioxide. If, however, undergoes pyrolysis, little or no carbon dioxide would be released, and the bulk of the biomass would harden into a kind of porous char, essentially sequestering the carbon as a solid.   Learn more about geoengineering.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *